Barça defeat Alaves 3-1 to win 29th Copa del Rey.


FC Barcelona won the Copa del Rey for the 29th time in club history as  Luis Enrique’s era came to an end. Another marvelous performance by Messi saw Barcelona defeat Alaves 3-1 to win the cup and become the first team since the early 1950s to lift the cup three seasons running.

The final game ever to be played at Atletico Madrid’s Vicente Calderon was the venue between the Catalan and Basque side. Messi gave the Blaugrana the lead at the half hour mark. However, Alaves leveled things through Theo Hernandez’s unstoppable free kick three minutes later. Neymar though scored the go ahead goal right before halftime before Messi assisted Paco who scored in stoppage time of the first half.

Neither side would score in the second half and Barça ended the season with the Copa del Rey trophy after losing out on the league title to Real Madrid. This result means they will meet Real Madrid in the upcoming Spanish Supercopa.

Match Stats (From Sport):

FC BARCELONA: Cillessen; Mascherano (André Gomes, m. 9), Piqué, Umtiti, Jordi Alba; Sergio Busquets, Rakitic (Aleix Vidal, m. 82), Iniesta; Messi, Paco Alcácer y Neymar.

ALAVÉS: Pacheco; Kiko Femenía, Vigaray, Rodrigo Ely, Feddal, Theo Hernández (Romero, m. 79); Edgar Méndez (Camarasa, m. 59), Marcos Llorente, Manu García, Ibai (Sobrino, m. 59); y Deyverson.

Goals: 1-0, m. 30: Messi; 1-1, m. 33: Theo Hernández; 2-1, m. 45: Neymar; 3-1, m. 48+: Paco Alcácer.

RefereeClos Gómez

Cautions: Umtiti (m. 41), Iniesta (m. 76) & Messi (m. 76); Edgar (m. 16) & Sobrino (m. 76).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *