Barça grouped with Juventus, Sporting and Olympiacos in Champions League.

17-18 UCL group

The 2017-2018 UEFA Champions League group stage draw was held today in Monaco. Barça will face Juventus, Sporting and Olympiacos in Group D of the Champions League. This will be the first step in their journey to playing the Final in Kiev, Ukraine on May 26, 2017.

Barça and Juventus have shared recent history together. Barça were eliminated by Juve during last year’s Quarter-Finals while Barça captured their 5th Champions League crown after defeating Juve in the 2015 Final in Berlin. Barça had also eliminated Juve in Quarter-Finals of the 1985-1986 Champions League and the 1990-1991 European Cup Winners’ Cup Semi-Finals.

This is the second time Barça will face Sporting CP in European competition. These two sides last met during Barça’s 2008-2009 Champions League group stage. Barça were victories in encounters, winning 3-1 at home and 5-2 away. This will be the time Barça will face Olympiacos in European competition.


Match Day 1
September 12, 2017
FC Barcelona v Juventus,
Camp Nou, Barcelona

Match Day 2
September 27, 2017
Sporting CP v FC Barcelona
José Alvalade, Lisbon

Match Day 3
October 18, 2017
FC Barcelona v Olympiacos
Camp Nou Barcelona

Match Day 4
October 31, 2017
Olympiacos v FC Barcelona
Stadio Georgios Karaiskakis Piraeus

Match Day 5
November 22, 2017
Juventus v FC Barcelona
Juventus Stadium Turin

Match Day 6
December 5, 2017
FC Barcelona v Sporting CP
Camp Nou, Barcelona


Group A: Benfica (POR), Manchester United (ENG), Basel (SUI), CSKA Moskva (RUS)

Group B: Bayern München (GER), Paris Saint-Germain (FRA), Anderlecht (BEL), Celtic (SCO)

Group C: Chelsea (ENG), Atlético Madrid (ESP), Roma (ITA), Qarabağ (AZE)

Group D: Juventus (ITA), Barcelona (ESP), Olympiacos (GRE), Sporting CP (POR)

Group E: Spartak Moskva (RUS), Sevilla (ESP), Liverpool (ENG), Maribor (SVN)

Group F: Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR), Manchester City (ENG), Napoli (ITA), Feyenoord (NED)

Group G: Monaco (FRA), Porto (POR), Beşiktaş (TUR), RB Leipzig (GER)

Group H: Real Madrid (ESP, holders), Borussia Dortmund (GER), Tottenham Hotspur (ENG), APOEL (CYP).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *