Barça win 25th league title after 4-2 victory over Deportivo.

FC Barcelona celebrated recapturing the league crown following their 4-2 over Deportivo today.  After losing the crown to Real Madrid last season, FC Barcelona regained the league crown with an impressive league campaign that consisted of a current historic unbeaten record. FC Barcelona traveled to Estadio Riazor knowing a point would be enough to be crowned as league champions.

It took the Blaugrana only six minutes to draw first blood courtesy of a Coutinho goal. Messi would scored the team’s second in the 37th minute but it would not be the final goal of the half. Deportivo’s Lucas Pérez pulled one back for the home side two minutes later.

The second half would see both sides continue their quest for more goals. Deportivo needed goals to ensure survival with a victory while the Blaugrana were not content with their one goal lead. In the 83rd minute, Deportivo grabbed the equalizer in the 63rd minute and Barcelona’s chances of winning the title were in jeopardy if they were to concede an additional goal. Fortunately, Messi came to Barça’s rescue when he scored in the 82nd minute to allow them to retake the lead before he completed his hat-trick when he scored the insurance goal three minutes later.

After the final whistle blew, the players and staff celebrated their triumph while the Deportivo players were in grief with the knowledge that they will be playing La Segunda next season. This was FC Barcelona’s 25th league title in history and their 8th domestic double in club history. For Messi, he has now scored 550 goals in 634 appearances for the Blaugrana. This  was also his ninth La Liga title which he shares along with Andres Iniesta, that in itself is a new club record.

Although there is no other title left to play for after winning the league and Copa del Rey, there is the matter of finishing the season unbeaten and next weekend’s big clash against Real Madrid at the Camp Nou. Only four matches remain and next week’s will be the most explosive.

Visca Barça!

Match Stats (From Sport):

Deportivo: Rubén, Juanfran , Schär, Albentosa, Luisinho, Borges (Andone, 86′), Guilherme (Murtari, 83′), Çolak, Krohn Dehli, Lucas Pérez y Borja Valle (Fede Cartabia, 86′).

FC Barcelona: Ter Stegen, Semedo, Piqué, Umtiti, Jordi Alba, Busquets, Rakitic (Iniesta, 87′), Coutinho (Paulinho, 74′), Dembélé (Denis Suárez, 68′), Messi y Luis Suárez

Goals: 0-1, Coutinho (6′); 0-2, Messi (37′); 1-2, Lucas Pérez (39′); 2-2, Emre Colak (63′); 2-3, Messi (82′); 2-4, Messi (85′)

Referee: De Burgos Bengoetxea

Cautions: Schär (20′); Semedo (67′)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *